Dr. Steve’s Magical 7 Layer Dip

Ermagerd…  yummy food is happening right now.  These recipes are not gluten free, they definitely have food dyes, preservatives, dairy, sugar, carbs, and I don’t think anyone would categorize them as health food… but they are quite delicious.  🙂  Everything in moderation, right?  Well here are a couple of my favorite party foods and their easy recipies!

Dr. Steve’s Magical 7 Layer Dip

image2

2 9 oz cans Frito’s bean dip (I use the hot version!)
1 12 oz container guacamole (or you could make your own, I’m too lazy)
1 16 oz container sour cream (I used light…health food right?)
1/2 cup mayonnaise (also light, now things are just getting crazy).
2 packets of taco seasoning
1 tomato
green onion
olives (blech, but my dad loves them)

Layer 1: Spread both cans of bean dip on the bottom of a glass baking dish. You can use whatever size, but I like the 9×16. Sometimes, I’ll use two smaller dishes.

image4

Layer 2: Guacamole on the beans. (If you’re a fan of guac, you can use two containers. I just go with one, because it’s not my favorite layer).

image5

Layer 3: The best layer. Mix the sour cream, mayo, and taco seasoning.  You can adjust the amount of taco seasoning according to taste.  I usually go heavier than my dad’s version, I love the spiciness! Layer the mixture on the guac.image8

Layer 4: A package of shredded cheese. I’ve used everything from sharp cheddar to pepper jack to colby jack.  Go with what you like!

image9

Layer 5 & Layer 6: Dice the tomato and green onion. Throw ’em on and spread evenly!

Layer 7… didn’t happen. It’s olives and I think they’re disgusting.  So my 7th layer is all the love I put into it… that works right? 🙂

Serve with veggies or tortilla chips! You’ll be addicted to this one, I promise.  The taco seasoning mixture is definitely what makes this different from other dips.  I could just mix that up and use it as a stand alone dip!

image10

Sweet//Spicy Crockpot Meatballs

16 oz. grape jelly
1 jar of chili sauce
1lb turkey meatballs
1lb ‘lil smokies
a splash of Worcestershire sauce
Tablespoon chili garlic sriracha sauce
1/2 c. grape juice (in my case the mystery jar, it’s homemade grape juice from my grandfathers garden!) image1

Throw it all in the crockpot, mix it up, and let it stew for a 3 hours on high! They’re the best!  IMG_0792

Have a happy Sunday everyone, I know I will with all these yummy treats! 🙂

2 comments

Leave a Reply

