Brain Melt: Achieved.

I FINISHED THE FIRST DRAFT OF MY THESIS AND ALL I WANT TO DO IS SLEEP AND CRY I’M SO HAPPY!

Thank you for letting me get that out.  Now, back to fun things. As a celebration of joy and merriment for finishing a draft (albeit not a great draft, but there are 70 pages with writing and graphs and pictures… it’s something) I started a new project.  Enter the best 80’s dress you’ve ever seen:

IMG_0677

For once I found something that isn’t crazy big on me, in fact, it was SUPER snug in the waist.  I told Mary I either needed to lose another three pounds or just take it out a little… taking out the waist it is! How to take it out was tricky decision, because I didn’t want to lose the overall integrity of the hour glass shape of the dress (soon to be not-a-dress), but I also like to eat so I have to make some wiggle room.  What I ended up doing was seam ripping the inside panel that goes behind the button holes and opening that up flat. I end up with two button holes and use the one closer to the inside.  The pattern is so crazy you don’t notice the extra button holes! (Is this making any sense?)

IMG_0680

The shoulder pads went in the recycle bin.

IMG_0691[1]

Next, I decided no human should wear that much turquoise at once so out came the scissors. Chop!

IMG_0683

A hem the new bottom edge.

IMG_0684

Next, I cut the shoulders in an inch to open up the neckline.

IMG_0681

And decided to spiff up the back with a little “cutout”.

IMG_0685

IMG_0686

 

I gave everything a clean seam, sewed ribbon to each end of the opening in the back to keep everything from falling off my shoulders, and voila!

IMG_0687[1]

I wanted to capture the feeling the moment I hit send and my thesis flew into cyberspace to the editor (aka my awesomesauce sister) and out of my hands for a few days:

IMG_0688[1]

Don’t worry, I know I’m a weirdo. Keep an eye out, there are more projects on the way especially now that I will soon have more time on my hands! Wahoo!

IMG_0690[1]

 

2 comments

  1. Hurray for all of the above awesomeness that made up your day little one. What a wonderful human I managed to raise! (Although most of the growing up was done by the time you hit seven or so. Always such a mature soul. Bless you in your endeavors

    Like

Leave a Reply

