The Warmest Blanket There Ever Was.

Hello lovelies!  This isn’t a refashion, but an update on my latest project!  The scarf from The Snowy Day Dress isn’t the only thing that’s been on my needle lately, I’ve been working on a few blankets, the first for my maternal grandparents for Christmas!

This whole project started when I was wandering through the yarn aisle at Michael’s (dangerous, I know), and I found Bernat Big Blanket Yarn… literally the softest thing I’ve ever touched.

IMG_0519-0

If you have ever bought one of the super plush micro fleece blankets that’s what this yarn feels like.  The only problem it was originally $9.99.  Fortunately, the yarn department was running a sale and each skein was $6.99.  To top it off I had a 25% off coupon which applied to the purchase so I made out like a bandit. I used the original 4 skeins I purchased and loved it so much I found a deal at Joann’s where I could use another coupon and purchase a boatload of yarn at about half pirce (~$5.50 per skein). Yes, they did pack it into a garbage sized sack, because my name is Shawn and I have a yarn problem.

IMG_0518

This blanket requires six skeins and ended up measuring about 5 ft x 5 ft.  I found the basic chevron pattern on All Things Bright and Beautiful blog.  Here’s how I modified the pattern.

(As suggested I worked in multiples of 30)

Using a size U.S. 11/L hook.

Row 1: Ch 130.

Row 2: Sc in the second stitch after the hook, *sc 14, 3sc in the next stitch, sc14, skip two stitches* repeat until the end of the row.

Row 3: Ch 1 to move to the next row, sc, skip stitch, *sc 14, 3sc in the next stitch, sc14, skip two stitches* repeat until the end of the row.

Continue “Row 3” until you’ve reached the desired size! Here’s how mine turned out!

This is about halfway through the project.  You can see in this picture that I left both colors attached to avoid having a knot every six rows along the left edge.  When I wanted to switch colors I sc along the edge to bring the desired color up to the working row.

IMG_0491

 

And here it is laying flat in a wonderfully glowy lighting!

IMG_0516

 

My lovely grandmother and mother modeling for me.

IMG_0504

Stay warm everyone and have fun crafting for Christmas!

IMG_0503

3 comments

Leave a Reply

