The Betty Crocker Dress.

I’m not usually a Halloween kinda gal, but a costume practically fell in my lap. l bake, sew, and I love to wear pretty dresses and heels. So, a Betty Crocker costume it is! Enter the perfect dress:

IMG_0293

And it came with some lovely details, check out the back!

IMG_0307[1]

This dress didn’t take much since it already fit well. The shoulder pads had to go.

This left the shoulder-to-waist length too long for this short stack so I cut along the shoulder seam, folded the strap under, and sewed the new-improved-shorter shoulders closed.  The picture documentation broke down a little at this point. Here’s the back before:

IMG_0267

The length was a little heavy and I’m fairly certain no human should be covered head-to-toe in a large floral pattern.

IMG_0270

And after the big cut.

IMG_0275

And enter the awkward prom dress (I promise I felt as weird wearing it as this picture conveys).

IMG_0286

It wasn’t the outside of this dress which caught my attention, but the underskirt.

IMG_0285My Betty Crocker/Susie Homemaker costume needed a little fluff so I cut the underskirt out of the prom dress,

IMG_0287

I cut it to match the waist-to-hem length and hand stitched the tulle into the waistband.

IMG_0291

And my costume was complete with a vintage apron I found in San Francisco a few years ago.

IMG_0299

And my favorite Betty Crocker cookbook!

IMG_0296

And sans apron…

IMG_0303 IMG_0300

So there she is!  I’m baking cakes for my church’s annual harvest party so the costume will not only be fun for me, but appropriate for my volunteer duties. I hope you all have fun finding thrifty Halloween costumes! Be creative, have a blast, and share your creations with me! 🙂

IMG_0308[1]

2 comments

Leave a Reply

