Thank you, thank you very much.

I’m sorry I’ve been absent for awhile, school has been crazy and I got hit with a wacky cold this week. You’ll get a refashion soon, I promise! I’m putting the finishing touches on my Halloween costume and I’ll share it with you tomorrow.  Sneak preveiw… what do you get when you combine this prom dress:

IMG_0286

and a curtain-esque dress?

IMG_0293

My costume… that you will see tomorrow. 🙂  Now on to take care of some fun business.

LA

The lovely Sheila from Sewchet nominated me for the Liebster Award! If you haven’t seen her blog go check it out!  I love getting to see what’s going on in the UK (is everywhere you visit really as charming as it looks?) and her projects are always inspiring!  The award is given from bloggers to bloggers to find out more about the authors and help young blogs grow!

1. What is your favorite film quote?

“Avoid using the word ‘very’ because it is lazy.  A man is not very tired, he is exhausted. Don’t use very sad, use morose. Language was invented for one reason boys- to woo women- and in that endeavor, laziness will not do.” -Robin Williams, Dead Poet Society.

2. What was the first thing you made?

The first thing I can remember making was a dress out of extra fabric from when my mother recovered seat cushions in the kitchen. Also, I use the word dress very loosely.  It was a tube with yarn loops to make a lace up back. I was in middle school, what can I say?

3. Which three words best describe you?

Persistent. Pragmatic. Coffee-Addict. (I know that it’s not a word and/or two words, but it’s the truest description of me).

4. Which is your favorite blog and why?

I’d have to say the original refashionista’s blog, Refashionista.  She’s been doing this for years and was the inspiration for my refashion journey!  She does crazy, creative things with thrift store finds.  If you go through the archives she did a 366 day refashion challenge, she refashioned an item every day for a year, donated the items back to a local shop and the proceeds went to support a local women’s shelter.  I’ve played with the idea of doing a year-long challenge, but that will have to wait until after grad school. 🙂

5. Do you have a favorite post from your archives? 

My favorite refashion was Paisley for Dayz.  It was a dramatic transformation, but it was also the project that I had the clearest vision from start to finish.  I saw it in the store and knew how I was going to transform this crazy dress.  Tomorrow’s post rivals the paisley number, but you haven’t seen it so I can’t choose that one!

6. What are the top three things on your bucket list?

I don’t have an actual bucket list.  If I had to name three things that would potential grace my hypothetical list I’d have to say 1) visit Italy, 2) read The Complete Sherlock Holmes, 3) host a holiday dinner for my entire family.

7. How did you meet your partner?

Our official story is that we met being counselors at Pine Acres Church Camp.  I say “official story” because technically we’ve known of each other since we were kids.  Our fathers have been friends since high school, his dad was even a groomsman in my parents’ wedding! To make a long story short we’ve known “of” each other forever, but until last summer we hadn’t talked much.  We talked, we liked what we heard, and haven’t stopped ever since!

8. Describe your house.

Quirky. Mish-Mosh.  Knick-knacky. Those are all words, right?  Before I was refashioning clothes I was thrifting furniture.  All of my furniture comes from consignment or thrift stores.  Everything except mattressess.  That’s one thing I can’t convince myself to purchase used.  Here’s a few of my favorite finds!  I found a set of chairs at a local consignment store:

yellowchari4

Imagine this times two. They’re so ugly, I love them! Haha  Also, I’m book crazy and my grandfather built me a set of bookshelves when I graduated from college!

5879_10200972598093882_973815259_n

In the giant wormhole that is Pinterest, I found bookshelves built from salvaged dresser drawers.  I loved the irregularity of the shelves size and shape showed them to my grandfather and he built these for me!  I’m spoiled.

And to illustrate the other craziness that is my house is the rotating kitchen table.  This started as a plain black table with matching chairs.  The black was a little dreary for the summer so I spruced it up.

IMG_0843

The turquoise motif lasted for about a year then the world got crazy and the table turned Kermit Green.  It was fun for awhile and now the table is black again.  For Christmas I’m considering gifting myself with a can of lavender paint, who wouldn’t love a lavender table?

IMG_2105

And my new favorite piece: my desk. If you’ve been a reader for awhile you’ve seen it and heard the story, but if not check it out!

IMG_0188[1]

9. Sewing or Crochet?

This is actually a hard question for me.  I learned to crochet from my mother and have crocheted a few headbands, socks, and even an afghan!  Crocheting takes quite a bit more time so as far as productivity goes I like sewing more. I’d love to learn to quilt someday! Or just become as good at crocheting as my beautiful mother!  Check out this Captain America blanket she made for my Marvel fanatic sister:

10258499_811136025580839_4082941919309533535_o

10. Which celebrity would be top of your guest list for a dinner party?

Jimmy Fallon!  I love his quick wit and I feel like having a conversation with him would be amazing!

Now as a Liebster award nominee I am asked to nominate others so here are my nominees!

Love, Lucie

Creative Saturdays

Loose Threads and Fluff

Bourbon and Blueberries

If you would like to participate follow the instructions in the Liebster link above and post the following questions to your blog:

1. What does the name of your blog mean and/or where did it come from?

2. What was the first thing you made?

3. Which three words best describe you?

4. How do you find inspiration for projects?

5. Do you have a favorite post from your archives?

6. If you could take up any new hobby what would it be?

7. What is your favorite book?

8. Describe your house.

9. What has been your favorite blogging moment?

10. Which celebrity would be top of your guest list for a dinner party?

3 comments

  1. well, what a fun one to read, Shawners! Love the Robin Williams quote.I remember the first thing you made; it was during your Project Runway, I’m going to be one of those designers stage. I agree with the words that describe you, but I must add, favorite daughter, granddaughter. lol. Possibly, you could fulfill the wish about making a dinner for your entire family when you visit at New Years? Your how we met is not as corny as mine: my cousin’s cousin, but you and I both met our guys really at Pine Acres, what a place! I love your house, you are great at mixing & reworking stuff. It’s fun to see. I secretly covet the ugly chairs:) Grandma Naydeen would champion your lavender table idea, so go with it! Love that you love crochet as it’s a good time-passer that actually produces fruit. Thanks for sharing your stuff with the following. Keep stormin’ the castle as they say in my favorite movie quote from Princess Bride:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very, sorry, ‘extremely’ interesting read – love the Robin Williams quote! Not meaning to make you envious, Venice is still my favourite place in the world – you’re right to make Italy number one on your bucket list. I actually had tears rolling down my face and a lump in my throat when standing on the Accademia Bridge looking down the Grand Canal, because it is so much more beautiful than any photograph can suggest and totally captures your emotions:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

