Purple Flower Power

The number of long, shapeless 90’s dresses at the thrift shop is amazing! I loved the $1.24 purple number with it’s awkward side ties and flower buttons.Plus it has pockets; I never turn down a dress with pockets!
IMG_0139.JPGBuh bye shoulder pads!
IMG_0199.JPG
See ya later flower buttons!
IMG_0200.JPG

And I couldn’t leave the loops with no buttons so those went to the scrap pile.

IMG_0202.JPG

And the obligatory V-neck cut and pinned. (I promise someday I’ll be creative and do something besides a v-neck).

IMG_0204I gave the sleeves a trim and a clean hem.IMG_0215.JPGHemming, hemming, hemming…

IMG_0206.JPG

Then this lovely dress got a 10 inch loop taken off the bottom. Don’t worry, you’ll see that bottom loop again (because I know you were quite worried).

IMG_0212.JPGSnip, snip, snip.
IMG_0213.JPG I took the extra fabric from the bottom cut it into a long strip and used it as a sash attached it with an awesome brooch.  It’s been a long weekend, time for Sunday afternoon nap before heading into the lab.  Our department is working towards incorporating a Ph.D. program so according to my advisor everything needs to appear “organized but like we are incredibly busy”.  I think I can do that. 🙂 Have a great day!

IMG_0228

IMG_0230.JPG

4 comments

Leave a Reply

