Flowers on Flowers on Flowers.

Hello friends!

I’m just going to start by letting the $0.50 subject of today’s refashion speak for itself…

IMG_0133

But there’s more… an extra pair of shorts in case you just have to wear this two days in a row.IMG_0134

Then Mary got in on the action. Don’t we look cute?

IMG_0137

I know you’re all dying to know who made this glorious outfit so you can buy one (or three) for yourself, but this is a homemade one-of-a-kind set.  From time to time I’ll see homemade items at the thrift store and while I don’t understand this one (they saw this fabric and thought I want an ENTIRE outfit of this) I have respect for people who take the time to lovingly make their own garments.  I wanted to add to the love they put forth in creating this.

First things first, this outfit took a soak in a dye bath of RIT Navy and Evening Blue.

IMG_0156[1]

The color was semi-muted after one bath, but I wanted to darken it up a little more so I soaked it a second time.  Each time it soaked for approximately 30 minutes in 1/4 bottle navy and a splash of evening blue.

IMG_0144

I turned the shirt inside out and cut across the shoulder seams to change the high scoop neck into a ballerina V.

Here’s a view of the shoulder before.

IMG_0145

And after the cut.

IMG_0146

I cut a V into the back of the shirt and pinned the new neckline down.

IMG_0147

I brought the sides in two inches straight down and the sleeves were also fitted bringing them in about an inch on each. IMG_0149

I paired my new top with a navy pleated skirt that has been collecting dust in my closet.  What do you think?

IMG_0154

I’d say that this top is going to get a lot of use as the weather cools down. Any ideas as to what I should do with the shorts?  I’m thinking about sewing them together and creating a really flowing skirt.  I’m thinking poodle skirt shape/length.  Who knows, that’s not for tonight and this week is going to be crazy!  I need to buckle down and get a few things done in the lab/thesis department and my handsome fella’s birthday is Tuesday so it’s officially time to celebrate birthday week!

IMG_0155

4 comments

  1. i do like the fabric much better with the new color. has anyone told you lately you have great legs?! what a cute blouse. and sparkly shoes are always appreciated. well done. the shorts might make a cute little clutch purse… or 20.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

