Little Prairie Dress.

I was channeling my inner Laura Ingalls when I donned this lovely “prairie dress”.  It just seems like something she would have worn if it had a slightly higher neckline and long sleeves for her life on the frontier.

IMG_2872

I know it’s terribly wrinkled in these, but I took out my iron for the first time in a couple years (I just fluff everything in the drier) and I burned myself. Call me a wuss, but I didn’t feel like ironing this in the glorious before pictures.

IMG_2873

So there she is. First things first, I needed to bring this size 10 in a smidge, but my usual go-to of bringing in the sides wouldn’t work.  This dress has a zipper on the right seam.  So I worked with the construction of the dress and brought both of the back dart/seams (I’m sorry I don’t know the proper terminology) in ~1 inch each.

IMG_0036[1]

There’s the back

IMG_0038[1]

There’s the pins along one of the seams that goes from the back of the sleeve to the bottom of the dress.   I just brought the seam in to give the dress more shape. Next, those lovely sleeves went to the bag-o-scraps. I’ll have to figure out something to do with all these sleeves and shoulder pads… that’s for another day.

IMG_0043[1]

Then to make the straps narrower I cut along the shoulder and folded in the outer half and cleaned up the entire seam around the arm.

IMG_0046[1]

And here’s the arm pinned and ready to be sewn!

IMG_0047[1]

And because it’s supposed to be 80 degrees out today the length had to go. To keep the shape of the hem I measured 16 inches from the hem at each seam and marked it with chalk.

IMG_0049[1]

And cut!

IMG_0050[1]The bottom was hemmed. And voila!

IMG_0065[1]

I promise I wasn’t trying to go Vogue on you guys, I just have this horrible habit of putting my hands on my hips whenever a camera goes up… like this:

IMG_0061[1]

So I thought I’d at least let you guys have a decent before and after.  I promise I’ll do better about the “barbie arms”. I’m off to spend the day in the lab and possibly stop by my favorite thrift shop later, because I have no self control. Have a lovely day!

IMG_0066

3 comments

Leave a Reply

