I Once Was a Lumberjack.

Today I channeled my inner college freshman (we were the Lumberjacks) and donned this lovely lumberjack-esque flannel number. Did I mention it was $1.52? I wonder why…

IMG_2988

Can you find the Shawn in this picture? I didn’t think so…

IMG_2989After I quit goofing around, I began to add some shape by pinning a new seam in the center-back panel of the top.  I tried (and slightly failed) to show this below.  I folded the fabric and created a new seam from waist to collar.

IMG_2991

I created the seam starting from the waist (since I wasn’t 100% sure how I was going to treat the bottom of the dress) and followed the plaid pattern straight up through the collar. I love when my fabric is also the ruler.

IMG_2993

Next, I brought in the sleeves by pinning along the underside of each sleeve.  I realized in these pictures you can’t see my pins, so the black yarn is showing you where they ran. Tricky, right?

IMG_2996

It was decision time.  I was already having a hard enough time since the dress was yellow.  Don’t get me wrong, but I could list all the yellow clothing items I own on one hand… even if I was missing three fingers.  I’m all about adventurous, but I didn’t think anyone could handle THAT MUCH yellow.  So, this dress became a cute little flannel peplum.  That’s a thing, right? If it isn’t, it is now.

IMG_2998IMG_2999

I did a little more editing and shortened the flip a bit and thus my new favorite flannel was born.  I say everything is my new favorite… but I mean it I promise!  Also, as noted by my fella, yes it’s August, but it’s always a good time for a cup of Sleepytime Vanilla tea!

IMG_3001Not bad, eh?  Definitely better than that floor length flannel wonder!  Oh and did you want to come see my new happy place? My neighbors were having a garage sale today and were selling this antique desk for $30!  It was fate, I’m sure of it… or I just can’t help a bargain! I get it from my mother. I needed a place to keep my sewing machine— it’s been living on the kitchen table/floor for the last few months.  You’re homeless no more little Singer!

IMG_3003Today was a wonderful day for me, I hope it was for you too!

photo

14 comments

  1. I’ve been sewing for years yet I never refashion old clothes, only make new ones. You’ve inspired me to visit the charity shop and have a go. I shall follow your blog with interest and admiration!

    Like

      1. Make one of those bags that packs into its self in its own little attached bag, like windbreakers do into a pocket. It could live in your car for impromptu farmer’s markets, garage sales, and surprise sales at the fabric store. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi!
    Good refashion!
    I just LOVE your desk!!! ❤
    Are you going to paint it? I would paint it white!!!!! 😀
    kisses from Portugal

    Like

  3. Wow!!

    Have you ever seen the DisneyBound site, where the quite creative gal makes outfits to loosely resemble a movie character? Well. The very first thing I thought when I saw your refashion was “Woody!” Too cute!

    Like

Leave a Reply

